Marlies de Groot
Marlies de Groot
Old Bedalian 2005

Have you undertaken any kind of further study since leaving Bedales and have you gained any further qualifications?

After Bedales I got a bachelor’s degree in Anthropology, followed by a Masters in the same field, both from Leiden University in the Netherlands. Immediately after, I signed up for a Research Masters in Consumer Studies at Wageningen University.

What kind of work are you currently involved in, and how and why have you come to be doing it?

I’m currently working with a consulting firm, River Path Associates, on a research project for the British Council in Pakistan. We’re doing research on youth, with a specific focus on their perceptions and attitudes regarding identity, elections and politics, and conflict. During both of my Masters I focused my research on the upcoming middle class in India, with a specific focus on youth and changing norms and practices (I’m still affiliated with Wageningen University as guest researcher, whilst I try to publish an article based on my latest research in Goa). During the last year of my Research Masters, I worked at a small marketing research firm in the Hague. This started as an internship during which I set up their online qualitative research programme, and then developed into a full-time job. In September 2012, the opportunity arose to go to Islamabad and work on this project, which builds on my personal interests.

Did attending Bedales help you in getting to where you are now and how satisfied are you with what you are doing?

I appreciate the richness of the education I received at Bedales


I’m not sure whether being at Bedales specifically helped me to get where I am now. What I do know is that I appreciate the richness of the education I received at Bedales. Not only in the direct sense of classes, which gave me a much higher degree of individual and critical thinking at university (in particular the A-Level teaching set-up), but also in its broadness. By being able to view various art forms, by gaining further insights through the various visitors who lectured during assemblies and Civics, I was able to have a broad perspective and a good base of general knowledge. These have definitely aided my further studies. I am very satisfied with what I’m doing currently. It is not easy at the moment for our generation to get a job, much less in a field that we desire so I have been quite lucky as of now.

Have you been involved in any other interesting activities or occupations since leaving school?

I have spent a lot of time away doing research for the various courses. I also worked as a student assistant for one of my professors at Leiden University, assisting him in his role as the secretary-general of the International Union of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences. During this period I researched the history of this union, and presented it in an exhibition during their congress in Kunming in 2009. I’ve also kept up with my dancing, which was always a passion of mine. Doing ballet during the time I spent in Holland and re-starting my classical Indian dance training in the Hague, which I’m currently still doing here in Islamabad.